Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | September 21, 2021

Scroll to top


Northwest ISD names Teachers of the Year, honors other top teachers and staff at annual Inspire Celebration

Northwest ISD names Teachers of the Year, honors other top teachers and staff at annual Inspire Celebration

Northwest ISD announced its Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year at its recent Inspire Celebration, a ceremony to honor the district’s top teachers and staff for the year.

Thompson Elementary School’s Kelly Suarez earned Elementary Teacher of the Year honors, while Medlin Middle School’s Wendall Bass earned Secondary Teacher of the Year honors at the eighth annual Inspire Celebration on Thursday, April 12. Both teachers will now advance to the Region XI Teacher of the Year competition, where finalists will be chosen in elementary and secondary categories to advance to the state competition. In addition to these overall district winners, each campus honored its Exemplar Educator for his or her leadership, motivation and effectiveness in the classroom.

On the support side, the district recognized its Employees of the Year for their contributions to Northwest ISD, ensuring the district functions efficiently. Both teachers and staff who have been with the district for 25 or 30 years were also honored, as were recent retirees.

The Inspire Celebration serves to recognize Northwest ISD’s dedicated educators and support personnel for their valuable contributions to students and district community members. This year, about 700 people watched as the exemplary teachers and staff members were honored at the Speedway Club at Texas Motor Speedway.

Northwest ISD’s 2018 Exemplar Educators
Kelley Schemmel, Beck Elementary School
Catherine Baker, Cox Elementary School
Amanda Borg, Granger Elementary School
Katie Cline, Haslet Elementary School
Leah Merryfield, Hatfield Elementary School
Sandra Champion, Hughes Elementary School
Kelly Barrett, Justin Elementary School
Caitlin Andrews, Lakeview Elementary School
Briana Pollock, Love Elementary School
Brittani Gilmore, Nance Elementary School
Kelley Milton, Peterson Elementary School
Karla Granillo, Prairie View Elementary School
Casey DiBenedetto, Roanoke Elementary School
Alexa Ellis, Schluter Elementary School
Malinda Garrett, Sendera Ranch Elementary School
Mariah Zeigler, Seven Hills Elementary School
Kelly Suarez, Thompson Elementary School
Kelly Thompson, Chisholm Trail Middle School
Wendall Bass, Medlin Middle School
Teresa Holeyfield, Pike Middle School
Callie Wilburn, Tidwell Middle School
Jamie Eikenberry, Wilson Middle School
John Bingaman, Byron Nelson High School
Reagan Bayless, Eaton High School
Chelsea Wade, Northwest High School
Kendra Langston, Steele Accelerated High School
Tanner Trask, Special Programs Center
Dana Dollar, Denton Creek

Northwest ISD also recognized its three Employees of the Year, who were nominated by their co-workers and selected by a committee.

Northwest ISD’s 2018 Employees of the Year
Lezlie Barnes, Instructional Support Employee of the Year, Northwest High School
Cindy Wisdom, Administrative Support Employee of the Year, Lakeview Elementary School
Richard McCoy; Support Services Employee of the Year; Facilities, Planning & Construction Department

The Northwest ISD Board of Trustees and administration also recognized 19 retirees.

Northwest ISD 2018 Retirees
​ Dr. Sandy Bishop, Peterson Elementary School
​ Cindy Clement, Justin Elementary School
​ Donna Coleyman, Justin Elementary School
​ John Dallinger, Byron Nelson High School
​ Robin Ellis, Steele Accelerated High School
​ Norma Garcia, Northwest High School
​ Phil Garton, Special Education Department
​ Patricia Glowacki, Peterson Elementary School
​ DeAnne Hatfield, Finance Department
​ Patty Hood, Haslet Elementary School
​ Twila Kelcourse, Medlin Middle School
​ Patty Lewis, Lakeview Elementary School
​ Corliss Monk, Pike Middle School
​ Gary Prescott, Athletics Department
​ Lynn Snead, Curriculum and Instruction Department
​ Monica Snow, Technology Department
​ Tammy Sperling, Special Education Department
​ Margaret Wallace, Medlin Middle School

Northwest ISD desires to recruit and retain highly motivated staff. At the Inspire Celebration, the district honored its 25-year and 30-year service award recipients – individuals who have experienced the successes and fast growth in Northwest ISD over the years.

Northwest ISD 25-Year Service Award Recipients
Kathryn Allison, Northwest High School
Gregory Clement, Maintenance Department
Brenda Cline, Finance Department
Deanne Colley, Curriculum and Instruction Department
Barry Hawkins, Byron Nelson High School
Jonice Macky, Curriculum and Instruction Department
Jennifer Morales, Seven Hills Elementary School
Kristy Schluter, Love Elementary School
Dorothy Vinzant, Northwest High School

Northwest ISD 30-Year Service Award Recipient
​Cindy Clement, Justin Elementary School