Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | June 26, 2019

Scroll to top


Watauga Fire Department Achieves Gold Level of Readiness

Watauga Fire Department Achieves Gold Level of Readiness

Watauga Fire Department qualified for the GOLD Level of Readiness by Texas Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) State Partnership Voluntary EMS Pediatric Readiness Program. The Watauga Fire Department is the first in Tarrant County and one of only eight departments in the State to receive this qualification after meeting rigorous standards. The program’s overall mission is to increase the readiness of EMS agencies to care for pediatric patients.

“The Watauga Fire Department always strives to provide all residents and visitors with the highest level of care. Being the first entity in Tarrant County honored with this recognition is a testament to the dedication this Department exhibits daily while caring for patients. Achieving the Gold Level of Readiness will be a daily reminder of what we have accomplished and encourage us to continue looking for ways to improve and enhance the already high level of care and customer experience we provide”, said Fire Chief Shawn Fannan.

Achieving the Gold Level of Readiness means the Watauga Fire Department goes above and beyond simply providing high quality and safe clinical care for children according to EMSC. EMS agencies demonstrating excellence in pediatric care also share a responsibility to provide education, participation in injury prevention initiatives, and outreach within their community. This outreach can be accomplished in several different ways and can target a variety of audiences (children, parents, school teachers, etc.). To achieve recognition at the Gold Level through the EMSC Voluntary Recognition Program, an EMS agency must regularly participate in community outreach initiatives, something the Watauga Fire Department is well known for throughout the community.

Forth Worth Community Credit Union