Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | January 18, 2022

Scroll to top


Ron Myers, Ryan Barnhart named top school officials by TASSP Region 11

Ron Myers, Ryan Barnhart named top school officials by TASSP Region 11

The Texas Association of Secondary School Principals’ Region 11 has named Byron Nelson High School’s Dr. Ron Myers and Northwest High School’s Ryan Barnhart its Outstanding Principal of the Year and Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year, respectively, a top honor in the education profession.

TASSP annually recognizes the top school administrations from its 20 regions across the state, with nominations and winners selected by their peers based on exemplary performance and leadership.

Dr. Myers has served as principal of Byron Nelson for six years and has a 34-year career in public education. He has 24 years of experience as a campus leader across the elementary, middle and high school levels. Dr. Myers earned his bachelor’s degree from East Central University; his master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from Baylor University; and his doctorate in educational administration, supervision, and curriculum from the University of Oklahoma.

Mr. Barnhart has served as a member of Northwest leadership since 2017, and he has five years of experience overall as an assistant principal. He attended the University of Kansas, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in secondary English education and master of education degree in sports administration.

TASSP will recognize each regional winner during the Josten’s Night of the Stars Awards Dinner on Tuesday, June 9, 2020, at the Hilton Anatole Dallas Hotel, where they will each receive an award and a commemorative book, “Texas Principals, Texas Heroes.” Each regional winner has the opportunity to advance to the statewide competition, with finalists selected in the fall before state winners are announced in the winter.

For Full-Scale Pictures