Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | August 17, 2022

Scroll to top




Four Keller ISD campus counseling departments took home top honors on Tuesday, November 5, at the Lone Star State School Counselor Association (LSSSCA) Annual Conference. 


Gold, Silver, and Bronze Award Winning Schools at LSSSCA Eagle Ridge Elementary received the Gold Award, after receiving the Silver and Bronze Awards over the past two years, respectively. A Bronze Award winner last year, Keller Middle School received the Silver Award this year, while Bette Perot Elementary and Chisholm Trail Intermediate each received the Bronze Award. Award winners must submit an application along with supporting documentation and are scored by a panel from LSSSCA.


Also at the conference, Eagle Ridge Counselor Abbie Harriman was named a top-five Finalist for School Counselor of the Year, and Trinity Meadows Intermediate Counselor Yvette Jennings was a Semifinalist. The selection was a multi-step process that involved a nomination and application.


In 2016, the LSSSCA developed a progressive awards system to recognize effective and outstanding school counseling programs in the state of Texas. These Lone Star State Awards include three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold Awards. Each level is met with increased levels of rigor designed to elevate school counselor programs to national recognition through the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) awards. Schools receiving the LSSSCA Bronze, Silver, or Gold Award demonstrated outstanding comprehensive counseling programs that were data-driven, focused on goal completion and aligned to the ASCA National Model.  


Congratulations to these wonderful Keller ISD counselors:


Gold Award – Eagle Ridge Elementary

Abbie Harriman 


Silver Award – Keller Middle School

Molly Brown, Denise Dulany, and Michelle Zimmerman


Bronze Award – Bette Perot Elementary

Erin Poage


Bronze Award – Chisholm Trail Intermediate

Lori Totty, Destiny Opitz, Kimberly Fleischer