Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | October 5, 2022

Scroll to top


Sen. Kelly Hancock Accepting Applications for 2020-21 Texas Armed Services Scholarship

Sen. Kelly Hancock Accepting Applications for 2020-21 Texas Armed Services Scholarship

Graduating high school seniors may be eligible to apply for ROTC accolade, annual financial award

AUSTIN – Senator Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills) today opened the Senate District 9 application period for the 2020-21 Texas Armed Services Scholarship.

“In these trying times, the Texas Armed Services Scholarship Program provides a particularly excellent opportunity for students to earn financial support as they pursue their goals in higher education and military service,” said Sen. Hancock, “We want to encourage deserving young Texans in that endeavor.”

The Texas Armed Services Scholarship Program (TASSP), administered by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, was created by the Texas Legislature in 2009 to assist promising students from throughout the state who are committed to education and service.

The program encourages young leaders to participate in Reserve Officer’s Training Corps (ROTC) programs at Texas institutions of higher learning and to become commissioned officers in the United States Armed Services or members of the Texas Army National Guard, the Texas Air Force National Guard, the Texas State Guard, or the United States Merchant Marine force. Each member of the Texas Legislature is able to appoint one qualified student for the annual accolade.

Hancock today also announced the members of the Senate District 9 TASSP Selection Board. These local leaders will assist in determining the Senate District 9 appointee for 2020-21:

Neal Adams, a Texas native, served as Adjutant of the Texas A&M Corps of Cadets’ Second Brigade and Head Yell Leader while pursuing his Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing before obtaining his Juris Doctor at Baylor University School of Law. President of the law firm of Adams, Lynch & Loftin P.C. in Grapevine, Neal has practiced law in Tarrant County for nearly 50 years. Committed to public service, he served on the Board of Trustees for HEB ISD for seven years and as a gubernatorial appointee to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board for six years. Neal has additionally served as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Texas Higher Education Foundation since 2009. He and his wife, Sonja, have two daughters.

Andy Nguyen came to the United States as a refugee at age 14. Despite the challenge of learning a new language and culture, Andy persisted, finishing high school with his peers. He joined the Kentucky National Guard, completed training in the Army Reserve Officer Training Corps, and was commissioned as a Field Artillery Officer in the U.S. Army Reserve. Andy moved to Texas in 1992, where he started his own company and, in 2010, was elected to the Tarrant County Commissioners Court, becoming the first Vietnamese American to serve as a county commissioner in Texas. Andy currently serves as Deputy Chief of Staff for U.S. Congressman Ron Wright. He and his wife, Julie, have three children.

Lyndi Wells has spent 22 years in public education and is currently a special education teacher at North Ridge Elementary School in Birdville ISD. She has been married to her high school sweetheart, Birdville High School Principal Jason Wells, for 25 years. The Wells’ have two children: Ethan (22) serves in the United States Army and is currently stationed at Fort Lewis in Washington state, and Landry (20) is a junior at Tarleton State University’s nursing school.

To learn more about the program or request an application, students may contact Senator Hancock’s district office at (817) 514-3804.

The Senate District 9 application deadline for the 2020-21 academic year award is Thursday, April 30, 2020.


Senator Hancock represents Senate District 9, which includes portions of Dallas and Tarrant Counties. He also serves as Chairman of the Senate Business & Commerce Committee and Vice Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee.