Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | December 5, 2022

Scroll to top


The Sound of Music

The Sound of Music

Casa Mañana Theatre kicks off the 2014 – 2015 Broadway series with The Sound of Music, September 20 – 28. Tickets are on sale now.

Maria, a young postulant at a monastery in Austria, is sent to serve as governess for the seven children of a strict naval Captain. She slowly begins to form a lasting bond with the children and ultimately captures the heart of the Captain. This production features well-known songs including “My Favorite Things,” “Do-Re-Mi,” “Sixteen Going on Seventeen” and more.

The Sound of Music stars Tony® Award winner Jarrod Emick as “Captain Von Trapp,” Broadway veteran Marissa McGowan as “Maria” and Broadway veteran Jacquelyn Piro Donovan as “Mother Abbess.” Emick won a Tony Award for his role of “Joe Hardy” in Damn Yankees. His other Broadway credits include Ring of Fire, The Boy From Oz, The Rocky Horror Show and Miss Saigon. McGowan is reprising the role of “Maria,” which she has played in several regional theatre productions. Her Broadway credits include A Little Night Music, Bonnie and Clyde! and Les Misérables. Donovan returns to the Casa Mañana stage after previously playing the role of “Maria” in Casa Mañana’s 2011The Sound of Music. Her Broadway credits include Miss Saigon and Les Misérables.

Additional cast members include Alyssa Robbins as “Liesl,” Brandon Shreve as “Freidrich,” Brooke Verbois as “Louisa,” David Postlewate as “Kurt,” Camryn Wright as “Brigitta,” Ryleigh Jochens as “Marta,” Madilyn Grace Perry as “Gretl,” Charlie Ray as “Rolf,” Paul Taylor as “Max Detweiler,” Cara Serber as “Elsa Schrader,” Lois Hart as “Frau Schmidt” and “Sister Bertha,” Brian Mathis as “Herr Zeller” and Christopher J. Deaton as “Admiral Von Schreiber.”

Additional ensemble members include Sarah Powell, Cheryl Allison, Jeni Roller, Rita Nsumbu, Brett Hurt, Caroline Ellis, Rainelle Krause, Emily Ford, Lindy Jones, Amanda Hollis, Ryan Page, Jonathan Bragg, Greg Dulcie, Ramsay Slugg and Tate Lee.

The Sound of Music is directed and choreographed by Casey Hushion. Hushion has been the Associate Director of several Broadway productions including Elf, In the Heights and The Drowsy Chaperone. David Andrews Rogers is the show’s Musical Director. Rogers was the Musical Director and Conductor of the Broadway National Tour of Les Misérables and Conductor of the Broadway National Tour of The Phantom of the Opera.

Additional creative team members include Samuel Rushen as Production Designer, Drew Lupson as Scenic Designer, Jonathan Parke as Sound Designer, Tammy Spencer as Costume Designer and Catherine Petty-Rogers as Wig, Hair and Makeup Designer.

Ticket prices range from $41 – $76 and can be purchased by calling Ticketmaster at 800-745-3000 or by visiting Tickets are also available at the Casa Mañana Theatre box office, 3101 W. Lancaster Avenue in Fort Worth.