Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | January 31, 2023

Scroll to top


Birdville ISD students earn national honors

Birdville ISD students earn national honors

BISD is proud to announce it has five National Merit Semifinalists and nine National Merit Commended Scholars for the 2014-15 school year.

Nearly 1.5 million juniors in 22,000 high schools across the country entered the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program last year by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors received the prestigious designation of becoming a semifinalist this year.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

BISD’s 2014-15 National Merit Semifinalists are:

Birdville High School
Erin Ruhlman
Lilly Clegg
Rebecca Hurlburt

Richland High School
Sean Murray
Mark Disalvi

National Merit Commended Scholars are:

Birdville High School
Alexander Healy
Seoyong Kim
Shiva Dheer
Andrew Haas

Haltom High School
Brian Fuller

Richland High School
Baylee Dawson
Steven Conner
Anya Kohnke
Lindsey Butler

The National Merit Scholarship Program will announce additional program honorees later this school year.