Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Northeast Times | December 2, 2021

Scroll to top


Freedom ES, Trinity Springs MS Teachers Named KISD Teachers of the Year

Freedom ES, Trinity Springs MS Teachers Named KISD Teachers of the Year

Keller ISD has named Freedom Elementary School first grade teacher Faith Harris as the Elementary Teacher of the Year and Trinity Springs Middle School math teacher and AVID Site Coordinator Carolyn Helm as Secondary Teacher of the Year. The Teachers of the Year were announced on Saturday, May 2, at the Keller ISD Education Foundation Inspiration Gala. Each of Keller ISD’s 39 campuses named a Teacher of the Year for their school and after an application review process, five elementary (PreK-6) and five secondary (7-12) teachers were named finalists. The District Teachers of the Year were selected after an interview process with District administrators, parents, and past honorees.

Harris has taught first grade at Freedom Elementary for seven years. Prior to Keller ISD, she taught third grade at Buck Lake Elementary in Tallahassee, Florida. Harris has served in a variety of leadership positions, such as First Grade Team Leader, Positive Behavior Intervention Support Team, Continuous Improvement Team and Running Club. Helm, who has taught math at Trinity Springs for five years, has been in Keller ISD since 2003, also teaching seventh grade English and second grade. Also during her twenty-year teaching career, she spent time with the Birdville and Dallas Independent School Districts. In addition to her involvement with AVID, Helm has spent time serving on the Dell Initiative Project Team, Campus Improvement Committee, Leadership Team, Benchmark Writing Team and Vertical Teaming Committee. Harris and Helm will now represent Keller ISD in the Region XI Teacher of the Year contest.

This year’s Finalists for Keller ISD Teacher of the Year Were:
Elementary (PreK-6 Finalists):
Faith Harris, Freedom Elementary School (winner)
Robin Allen, Keller-Harvel Elementary School
Melissa Fletcher, Woodland Springs Elementary School
Carla Hood, Independence Elementary School
Lori Wardrup, Parkwood Hill Intermediate School Secondary (7-12 Finalists):
Carolyn Helm, Trinity Springs Middle School (winner)
Chuck Fongsamouth, Timber Creek High School
Misty Gatlin, New Directions High School
Kelly Krause, Fossil Ridge High School
Bob Schickedanz, Central High School