June 20, 2024

On Tuesday, May 14, the City Council canvassed the results of the May 4, 2024 election and welcomed North Richland Hills’ new mayor and two new council members to the Council dais. Mayor Jack McCarty and Council Members Ricky Rodriguez and Russ Mitchell were elected to serve 2-year terms on the Council. Following the canvassing, the newly elected officials took the oath of office and made brief remarks. Watch the meeting online.

Thank You Outgoing City Officials

The City of North Richland Hills extends our sincere appreciation to Mayor Oscar Trevino, Council Member Rita Wright Oujesky and Council Member Scott Turnage who stepped down this week from their roles as elected officials. Combined, they served an impressive 57 years on the NRH City Council. We are thankful for their many years of dedicated leadership.

Mrs. Wright Oujesky served in Council Place 2 for the past 12 years. Mr. Turnage served in Council Place 6 for 20 years (2002-2004 and 2006-2024). Mr. Trevino served as Mayor for 22 years and as a Council member for 3 years before that. We are grateful to each for their countless contributions to our community and we wish them the best in the years ahead! 

Runoff Election Set for June 15

During this week’s meeting, the City Council also called a runoff election for June 15 for Council Place 4 because no candidate received more than 50% of the votes. Matt Blake and Jeff Arwine, the top two vote-getters in the May 4 election, will be on the ballot. Early voting for the runoff election will take place June 3 – 11. Council Member Mason Orr will continue to serve in Place 4 until his successor is elected and sworn in.

Voting information can be found on the city’s website. Please note, there is also a runoff election coming up on May 28 for the Republican Primary with early voting May 20-24. You can find more information about the Republican Primary election runoff on the Tarrant County Elections website.